Players picked for Blitz Border Bowl


All star football2

The second annual Blitz Border Bowl all-star football game pitting the top players from the Lowcountry against the stars of the Georgia Coastal Empire is scheduled for Jan. 12 at Bluffton High School.

May River High School’s Rodney Summers will serve as the head coach for the Lowcountry team, whose roster will feature nine players from Summers’ Sharks, as well as standouts from Battery Creek High School, Beaufort High School, Beaufort Academy, Bluffton High School, Colleton County, Hilton Head Island High School, John Paul II Catholic School, Ridgeland-Hardeeville High School, Wade Hampton High School, and Whale Branch Early College High School.

The Georgia team won last year’s Blitz Border Bowl 15-3.

The Lowcountry players include:

  • Bluffton High: Ronald Reid, Jaishon Jenkins, John Swinton, Jaylon Thompson 
  • Hilton Head High: Johnathan Orr, Sterling White, Nate Brown, Diante Richard, Jai Roberson
  • John Paul II: Freddie Aiken, Zach Doe
  • May River: Michael Ludwig, Grant Laseter, Connor Kovacs, Joe Whiteaker, Gabe Long, Jordan Barrow, Zach Brzezinski, Micah Burton, Kam Gleason