Island council names U.S. 278 committee


Hilton Head Island Town Council recently named 13 local residents to serve on the new Hilton Head Island U.S. 278 Gateway Corridor Committee. The committee will work with the South Carolina Department of Transportation as it plans improvements along U.S. 278 from the intersection of Moss Creek Drive to the intersection of Spanish Wells Road.

The new advisory panel chairman is David C. Johnson Jr. The rest of the panel includes vice chairman, Frank Babel, Alexander Brown Jr., Tom Crews, Jerry Cutrer, Craig Forest, Marc Grant, Hannah Horne, David Lunka, Thomas Peeples, Brendan Reilley, John Taylor and Kyle Theodore.