Hilton Head voters elect new mayor

After a runoff on Nov. 22, Alan Perry was elected mayor of Hilton Head Island. Perry defeated JoAnn Orsichak (55.95-44.05 percent). 

Orischak and Perry needed a run-off because of the tight Nov. 8 election, which saw Orischak defeat Perry but not receive at least 50 percent of the vote. 

The voter turnout for the runoff was 27.25 percent.

Also on the island, incumbent Patsy Brison (Ward 2) and Tamara Becker (Ward 4) won. Brison topped Steve Arnold (54.88-44.77) and Becker defeated Kim Likins (54.41-45.46).