School District Teacher Of The Year Named

Elizabeth MacMurrayAn English teacher with more than 30 years of classroom experience was named the 2016-17 Beaufort County School District Teacher of the Year. The selection of Elizabeth MacMurray, who teaches ninth-grade English at Hilton Head Island High School, was announced during a recent breakfast celebration to honor teachers of the year from all of the district’s schools.

Superintendent Jeff Moss said that MacMurray had “the experience and passion necessary to represent every teacher in our district.” Martha Hartley, chief financial officer of Hilton Head Buick-GMC-Cadillac, offered MacMurray her choice of a $5,000 cash prize or $5,000 that she could apply toward a vehicle offered for sale at the dealer’s invoice price. The Foundation for Educational Excellence announced an additional $1,000 grant award for MacMurray to support innovative instructional opportunities for her students. The four other finalists were Lawrence Anderson of Mossy Oaks Elementary School; Bebe Cifaldi of Hilton Head Island Elementary School for the Creative Arts; Kelly Goudy of Robert Smalls International Academy; and Jennifer Stoddard of Beaufort Middle School.